Weekend Procrastinators

Posted on March 5, 2010 by

0


The weekend has come, and not a moment too soon. After a long week of running between the radio station and Mass General, I’m more than welcoming a break from it all. Like most weekends T and I will undoubtedly have a couple adventures and between adventures we will probably start planning next week’s show—if you have any suggestions for what you’d like to hear you can call during the show using the WMBR request line, 617-253-8810, or you can just reply to this post. With any luck my cousins will be coming to visit me this weekend which will only make things more entertaining, but until that happens I’m stuck trying to procrastinate and entertain myself. It would seem that the faceless beings that control Hulu have decided to hold off on releasing anymore hip-hop documentaries so this weekend’s Procrastinators come from thing’s I’ve either found through other people’s facebook or were posted on my wall. The first came from my friend Ryan and is certainly not to be missed as it features Zach Galifianakis of The Hangover and G-Force (a movie I’m sure he will later regret).

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about “Weekend Procrastinators “, posted with vodpod

I found the second clip, or rather the first in a set of two, from a Jamie Cullum album review that a friend of mine wrote for theywillrockyou.com (click here for the review) for his new album, The Pursuit. Personally, I’ve never been able to get behind the jazz/pop/piano-man Cullum since his cover of Hendrix’s The Wind Cries Mary, so don’t rely on me for unbiased info about this album, for that I’d advise you to check out her review. However, in what I can only assume was a calculated choice to show off his cover song range, Cullum decided to cover Rihanna on his new album. While it doesn’t drive me wild, it does feature the wall of pulsing white lights and an exploding piano, both of which are awesome (I don’t endorse destroying instruments, but if it has to happen then it better be big).

If you forgot what the original sounded like, or just how hot Rihanna is, here it is.

Update: Apparently 3.5 minutes really isn’t Procrastinators worthy so I’m pulling out some other videos that are sure to keep you from finishing that TPS report.  First up is the new Gorillaz video from their upcoming album, Plastic Beach (March 9th).  This video, <em>Stylo</em>, has the Gorillaz gang in all their amazing computer generated glory trying to outrun the law (which includes Mr. Yippie-Kay-Yay himself).  Rapper Mos Def and R&B singer Bobby Womack are featured on the track which definitely make it not to be missed.

Posted in: HQ, Procrastinators