First Show over, Weezy too Hott to handle

Posted on March 4, 2010 by

0


After much obsessing, running around, and song editing, the BreakBeat Axiom Radio show went on the air yesterday (or perhaps today, depending on where you put midnight to 1 am). The entire day was plagued by technical issues (Murphy’s Law for the win), ever since I started editing Q-tip’s Won’t Trade for radio use. I’m not sure if it was the spirit of the still-living Q-tip that hexed me or if it was just my computer, but regardless, we came out, had an awesome time, and played some damn good music. Here is the playlist for the first show (and here is a link to the audio stream):

Blakroc What you do to me
The Coup Me & Jesus The Pimp In A 79 Granada Last Night”
Brother Ali Truth is
Black Star Definition
BlakStreet No Diggidty
Ike & Tina Proud Mary
Q-Tip Won’t Trade
De La Soul Eye Know
Kid ‘n Play Rollin’ with Kid ‘n Play
J. Cole Lights Please
Bill Wither Use Me
Jay Z & Dangermouse Public Service Announcement
Nneka ft Talib Kweli Heartbeat (J.Period Remix)
Kanye West My Way Home ft. Common
People Under the Stairs Trippin’ at the Disco

The format for the first show was four or five songs, banter, rinse & repeat which I think both T and I really liked. Granted, I’m not a huge fan of banter on the radio when I want to listen to music, but if I had to choose between some mainstream  DJ shouting at you about how HOTT the club he is spinning at is, or two people’s random musings about the importance of lyrics or which rapper they’d rather be trapped on a desert island with, I’d choose the latter. Speaking of things mentioned on the show: a couple of days ago I posted about Weezy going to jail. While prepping for the show, I didn’t get a chance to post that he actually didn’t end up appearing before the judge. No, it wasn’t brazen disregard for the law; the court house caught on FIRE! Someone up there must love Birdman Jr. The New York Times reported,

“…A two-alarm fire broke out in the basement of the Manhattan Criminal Courthouse around 10:30 A.M. Tuesday. The blaze was put out within 45 minutes, but the building was evacuated due to smoke and closed for the remainder of the day….At least eight people sustained minor injuries — five firefighters, two civilians, and one prisoner.”

Meanwhile, Baby Jr (who reportedly was unaware that he was even suppose to appear before a judge later that day) took the chance to start a twitter account and then perform at Jay-Z’s Madison Square Garden concert with Young Jeezy, Drake, and Nicki Minaj (I guess Lil Chuckee and Lil Twist were too busy ruining music to make an appearance). Wayne’s sentencing has been rescheduled for Monday, March 8, and it is yet unclear if he will face additional charges for assaulting Jigga’s MSG audience with the lyrical styling of Nicki Minaj.

In other news, Guru has awoken from his coma. In a statement to AllHipHop.com, Guru explained,

“I am doing fine and I am recovering! I’m weak though….Solar (his producer and the Robin to his Batman) is the only person who has the accurate info on my situation. Any info from anybody else is false! I appreciate your well wishes and all the love!”

Now I’m not going to confirm or deny that I have the ability to give and take away life with my mind. Just like I’m not going to confirm or deny that I make an awesome cajun pork loin. But in the words of Coolio from Cookin’ With Coolio , “Everything I cook tastes better than yo’ momma’s nipples.” Speaking of Coolio…and Michelle Pfeiffer,

