Blakroc: Everything that’s good about music.

Posted on December 21, 2009 by

1


It’s as if someone tapped into my musical psyche and decided to make all my dreams come true.

Blakroc is the new collaboration between Ohio-based, critically-acclaimed, and all around awesome blues rock duo The Black Keys (who I have obsessed over since my early college years) and many of my favorite hip-hop artists: Q-Tip; Raekwon, RZA and the late Ol’ Dirty Bastard of the Wu-Tang Clan; Jim Jones and NOE of ByrdGang; Mos Def; Nicole Wray; Pharoahe Monch; Ludacris; Billy Danze of M.O.P… and the list goes on.

Really, I just don’t see how this album can be anything but really, really good. The Black Keys (which consists of vocalist/guitarist Dan Auerbach and drummer/producer Patrick Carney) are one of the best bands that this brand new millennium has produced. Beyond excellent musicianship, an original sound, and brilliant production, they just make really good music. And the list of collaborators is a virtual roll-call of some of the most innovative names in hip-hop. This album should be the musical love child of everything that’s good about rock and everything that’s good about hip-hop.

Of course, we know that such sure-fire collaborations don’t always pan out. But based on what I’ve heard so far, I’ll love this album. It was released on Nov 27 of this year, so go check it out.

Also peep the awesome webisodes that document the studio sessions for the album. My favorite episode is Week 5; Nikki Wray and Dan Auerbach together is something that should have happened a LONG time ago. I also love when everyone in the studio gets stoned and provides the clap soundtrack.

