And the Winner is HOV! 2009 Grammy Nominees are Awesome/ Kinda Bad.

Posted on December 8, 2009 by

0


The 2009 Grammy Nominations came out on December 2, and some of my favorites are in the running. Then again, some things that I’m not so down with are also representing (and does anyone else think that it’s a little strange that The Lonely Island & T-Pain’s “I’m on a Boat” is in the running for Best Rap/Sung Collaboration? I mean, yeah, it’s pretty funny [my friends and I still refer to sandles as “flippy-floppies”], but doesn’t its inclusion here undermine the appreciation of hip-hop/rap as a legitimate musical form?).

HQ and I will be thoroughly reviewing the nominees, but here’s the list to get you started.

*Note that Jay-Z’s  Blueprint 3 is conspiculously absent from the Best Rap Album category – this is due to a late release date. Also, Raekwon’s Only Built 4 Cuban Linx…Pt.II isn’t nominated…



Best Rap Album

Common – Universal Mind Control
Eminem – Relapse
Flo Rida – R.O.O.T.S.
Mos Def – The Ecstatic
Q-Tip – The Renaissance



Best Rap Solo Performance

Drake – “Best I Ever Had”
Eminem – “Beautiful”
Jay-Z – “D.O.A. (Death of Auto-Tune)”
Kid Cudi – “Day ‘N’ Nite”
Mos Def – “Casa Bey”



Best Rap Song

Drake – “Best I Ever Had”
Kid Cudi – “Day ‘N’ Nite”
T.I. & Justin Timberlake – “Dead And Gone”
Jay-Z – “D.O.A. (Death Of Auto-Tune)”
Jay-Z, Rihanna & Kanye West – “Run This Town”



Best Rap Performance By a Duo or Group

Beastie Boys & Nas – “Too Many Rappers”
Eminem, Dr. Dre & 50 Cent – “Crack A Bottle”
Fabolous & Jay-Z – “Money Goes, Honey Stay”
Kid Cudi, Kanye West & Common – “Make Her Say”
Kanye West & Young Jeezy – “Amazing”



Best Rap/Sung Collaboration

Beyoncé & Kanye West – “Ego”
Keri Hilson, Kanye West & Ne-Yo – “Knock You Down”
Jay-Z, Rihanna & Kanye West – “Run This Town”
The Lonely Island & T-Pain – “I’m On A Boat”
T.I. & Justin Timberlake – “Dead And Gone”

